My First Day of University

I remember this day like it was yesterday (seriously, I can’t believe it has been almost seven months, time flies!). I had finally settled into my flat after a very hectic week (I am an international student… I feel like that is enough of an explanation) and I could not wait to go to university the next day. Thoughts of making new friends made me forget how homesick I was. The following morning I jumped out of bed with excitement at the sound of my alarm. For some reason I felt so optimistic, I could not wipe the smile off my face.

When I got there,  the room was not yet opened but students -who I guessed were my course-mates- were milling around the hallway in front of the door in groups chatting and laughing. I desperately wanted to join in, so I did. I walked up to a group of girls who were clearly in the middle of a conversation and awkwardly stood there listening to their conversation. Now before you think I am total creep, I initially intended to introduce myself like any normal person would. In my head I had the perfect plan, I would smile and say hello, maybe throw in a few jokes and they would laugh their heads off and we would all be bffs. Things didn’t happen exactly that way. I got there and I just froze. It was so weird, I could neither speak nor walk away. I just stood, rooted to the spot, nodding and laughing nervously at everything they said. They continued their conversation, trying to ignore my presence, occasionally shooting me confused looks and exchanging glances as if to say why the hell is this girls just standing here. ‘Hi, my name is…’ I was saying it fine in my head but my voice failed me. My heart was pounding, palms sweating and tears pricked my eyes. It was such a horrible feeling. I am not sure how long I was standing there but it honestly felt like an eternity.

The lecturer finally arrived and let us in, I was so glad to get away from that group of girls (they probably thought I am an utter weirdo). I made sure to sit far away from them. I watched as people filed in and sat in groups, everyone seemed to know each other and I felt like such an outsider. So what if I completely humiliated myself I thought I bet someone great is going to sit next to me right now and they’ll… Before I could finish my thought, a group of three guys laughing sat next to me oh great. I tried my best not to listen to their conversation and have a repeat of my previous incident. The session was two hours long and I was on the verge of tears the entire time. I just wanted to get the hell out of there. You can be sure when it ended, I practically ran to my flat and cried like a baby. I already hated university, I just wanted to go back home where I had friends.

I really did not want to go back but I had another one hour session later that day. It took everything inside me to walk back out of that door. This time I walked up to a girl who was sitting on her own and to my surprise, I managed to smile and have a normal conversation. I discovered she was also an international student and we just clicked. We went to the Fresher’s fayre  together and signed up to some really cool societies. One of the societies was having a meeting on the same day so I attended it. I met so many cool people there and got all their numbers. After the meeting, we went bowling then had pizza. It was so much fun that I completely forgot what happened earlier. 🙂

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed my story! 🙂

27 comments

  1. The Nexus · April 2, 2016

    I kinda feel like this will be happening to me on my first day. The awkwardness awaits…
    I’m so glad it turned out great in the end! 😀
    ~Harvey

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Newswire · April 11, 2016

    I was the most “confident” person on my first day at university 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. americanblackgirl · April 11, 2016

    Man, I remember SUCH a Roller Coaster of emotions… Man that had to be hard. Kudos, great ending!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 50shad3s0fjay · April 12, 2016

    Oh my God, that experience with the girls sounds awful! Poor you, but YAY i’m so happy for you, that on the same day you found someone great to be friends with! I’m glad you had fun bowling 🙂 good luck at Uni! I hope you have the time of your life! How’s it going now? Have you spoken to the original group of girls since!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Apparentlyintrovert · April 12, 2016

      I actually have! Ive had to work with some of them in labs but I don’t think they remember the incident (phew!). They’re nice people but we don’t really have much in common. Its all good, I’ve got some lovely friends now so uni is amazing 😀 Thanks! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • 50shad3s0fjay · April 13, 2016

        Haha thank God! Its funny how it was a big deal for you in a way but they dont even remember! Ah fair enough, I’m glad youre having a great time!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sarga · April 26, 2016

    I was pretty much the same on my first day at the university 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. OrganicIsBeautiful · May 5, 2016

    Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Nexus · May 5, 2016

    Missing the posts! Nonetheless I nominated you for an award!! Check out my latest post for details 🙂 Remember you don’t have to do it if you don’t want to
    ~Harvey

    Liked by 1 person

    • Apparentlyintrovert · May 7, 2016

      I am actually working on a new post so do look out for that 🙂
      Thank you so much! I really appreciate it. I have just had a look at the questions and woah they’re hard! lol
      I am still figuring out WordPress, not entirely sure how to do some of the things like insert the logo and that but I will definitely give it a go. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • The Nexus · May 7, 2016

        Looking forward to the new post! Don’t feel obliged to do the award if you don’t want to. If you need any help with technical stuff I’d be happy to (try to) help 🙂
        ~Harvey

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Naimah Ra'idah · May 8, 2016

    Its been almost a decade since I graduated and I still rem my first day of university and the sweaty palms U mentioned.
    Check out my posts and follow me for updates ..
    https://thisbeautifullifeofours.com

    Looking forward to reading more !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Apparentlyintrovert · May 8, 2016

      Already following you 🙂
      I think I’m really going to enjoy your posts.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Naimah Ra'idah · May 8, 2016

        What kinds of blogs do you enjoy reading? Just trying to ensure im putting out content that ppl are interested in 🙂

        Like

      • Apparentlyintrovert · May 8, 2016

        I personally like your story type posts like “Mr fun dad” and “the habit of prayer” the recipes are also cool 🙂

        Like

  9. RollingStones 2k16 · May 16, 2016

    That ‘freezing at the wrong moment ‘ it always happens with me😅 good work frnd😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

