Being your authentic self

 

I’ll be honest with you, this post has taken me ages to write. I’ve written and erased over and over simply because of the voices in my head, “are you really going to post that?”, “what will people think?”, “will people like that?” ,the list goes on. This blog was meant to be about my thoughts, my honest thoughts, unchanged, unedited, and so it was until I realized people actually read it! When I made my first post, I remember not caring. I literally typed it out on my phone barely giving it a second thought. I just wrote exactly how I felt because I did not expect anyone to read it. Now, suddenly nothing feels good enough to post. I constantly worry about what people will think and compare my blog to other blogs.

This got me thinking, the only thing that stops us from truly being ourselves, is what other people think. We are so concerned with people’s opinions that it actually plays a role in the way we dress, the way we walk, talk and even the major decisions we make in life. I think this is ridiculous because no one actually cares about you (sorry to say). If you think about it, you think about yourself and what other people think of you a lot and that’s the case with everyone else. This means everyone is too busy thinking about themselves to have you even cross their minds. What is the point of bending over backwards to please people who probably  don’t even notice you? If people don’t notice you what is the point of wearing a mask, I mean, you might as well be yourself (hope the logic there makes sense).

We try to become exactly like that famous blogger, youtuber or artist, because we figure if it worked for them, it’ll probably work for us but that’s the problem. This person is successful because they did their own thing, they were original, they were authentic and people can sense authenticity and are drawn to it. It is so inspiring to see someone who is unapologetically themselves. The world does not need another Steve Jobs or Bill Gates or Oprah Winfrey so stop trying to be the next anybody. Just be your authentic self, be the first you.

I got inspiration for this post from a Ted talk I recently watched, check it out at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ati3O3-iZls  Thanks for reading 🙂

 

 

 

8 comments

  1. speakquiet · June 3, 2016

    I’m so glad you finally were able to write this! You are not alone in your feelings. I just started over, because I had built a blog that lost itself in trying to cater to what others wanted. Being true to oneself is far more important than notoriety! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Aki · June 3, 2016

    Be yourself, others are already taken!!
    I’d mention that if we get fascinated by any blogger or youtuber we just look at how much subscribers they’ve and how much famous they’re, but we never look at how much effort they’ve done in order to achieve what they’re Now..
    Thanks for sharing this post.. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. soupconraclette · July 14

    I had an eerie feeling as I read this that I was reading my own blog. I had to check! All the thoughts you express here have not merely run through my head, but have pulled up a chair and had a good old chat. Thank you for expressing your thoughts and in such a beautiful way. I’ll be keeping an eye on your page 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Apparentlyintrovert · July 14

      Thank you! I checked your blog too, we seem to have a very similar style. It always refreshing to find like-minded people on here. 🙂

      Like

      • soupconraclette · July 14

        Agreed! It’s very encouraging to know you’re not alone because, for some reason, it’s so easy to think that you are – in a world of, what, 7 billion humans?!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Chaplin0209 · July 20

    All of us are afraid of being either incorrect or being judged . In trying to fit in , we forget to be ourselves. It’s an honest confession and expresses the dilemmas of most of us. A good read!!!! I hope I can one day in the truest sense be unapologetically me…:):)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tsholohope · July 20

    Loved reading this

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

